Chicago, The Drake & Other Important Matters

Yesterday I got up at 6am, went to the barn, fed horses, cleaned stalls, showered, packed and flew to Chicago.

The End.

Just kidding!  There’s more.  I wouldn’t leave you hanging like that.

During my flight to Chicago I had that nagging feeling that I’d forgotten something. I typically forget at least one thing per trip so I crossed my fingers and hoped it wasn’t anything important . I tried to read Sky Mall and distract myself with a bag of peanuts but I kept thinking about it.  Hmm.  More hmm.  And then it hit me:

KEVIN!

Ha ha, not really.  I don’t have any kids.

When I got to Chicago, I realized what I’d left behind: the memory card for my camera!  I guess my camera phone will have to do.

After the camera realization, I headed to an event at The Drake, also known as One of the Nicest Hotels I’ve Ever Been In.   Since I had my phone and a few extra minutes, I snapped a couple pictures:

The Drake Chicago
Here’s the outside of the lovely Drake.

The Drake Chicago
The Outside of the Hotel II.

The Drake Hotel Chicago
The lobby. Oh la la!

The Drake Chicago
More lobby.  I love the chandeliers.  So pretty!

The Drake Chicago
This, believe it or not, is an elevator!  Unfortunately my ride on the elevator wasn’t long enough to actually sit down.  But it was nice to have the option.

The Drake Chicago
The entrance to the bar/lounge area off the lobby.

The Drake
140 East Walton Place
Chicago, IL 60611-1501
(312) 787-2200

Add a Comment

