Grammie Margo’s Strawberry Cake

This recipe is from my great-grandma and is one of my favorites.  Grammie Margo was my great-grandma on my mom’s side.  She made pies and other baked good every week for the restaurant she and my great-grandpa (Papa) owned.  My mom still makes many of her recipes including this one and her pie crust.  This is the first time I attempted to make this on my own and it turned out great!

Grammie Margo’s Strawberry Cake with Strawberry Glaze

4 egg whites

1 box of strawberry cake mix (any brand)

1 small box (3 oz) strawberry Jell-O

2/3 cup Canola oil

2 cups pureed strawberries

Butter and flour for greasing pan

Strawberry Glaze

1/2 cup powdered sugar

Pureed strawberries

1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 325°.

Beat four egg whites until stiff peaks form.  I used a stand mixer but you could also use a hand held mixer.

In a separate bowl, combine: one box of strawberry cake mix (any brand), one small box strawberry Jell-O, 2/3 cup Canola oil and two cups pureed strawberries.

Carefully fold the egg whites into the cake batter.  You don’t want to crush the air bubbles you just beat into the egg whites because they’re what will give the cake its fluffy textures.

Grease a pan well and dust with flour.

Pour batter into greased and floured pan.  Bake for one hour at 325°.

You can make the glaze while the cake is baking.  Whisk together 1/2 cup powdered sugar, three tablespoons pureed strawberries and a teaspoon of vanilla.  Add one tablespoon pureed strawberries at a time until you get the right consistency.  Drizzle over cake after it cools.

This cake couldn’t be easier to make and it’s so good.  Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Grammie Margo’s Strawberry Cake

  1. Kathy F.

    This cake looks delicious and what a wonderful way to use fresh strawberries! One question – is this cake super moist or soggy? I’d like to try it and would like to know before I make it. Thanks!

    Reply
    1. Midwestern Belle Post author

      Hi Kathy! Thank you! It’s a very moist cake on its own (not soggy) but with the glaze it can get a little soggy, especially after a day or so. If that bothers you I’d say just glaze the portion you plan to eat and you should be fine. I hope you like it and let me know how it turns out 🙂

      Reply

Add a Comment

