The Sunshine State

Palm trees. Sand. Sun. I spent last week at a work conference in the Sunshine State!

I tried to snap a few pictures in between meetings, including this one from my hotel room window:

Miami and Key Biscayne skyline

Southwest plane at Kansas City International Airport

Like most of my trips, this one started at the Kansas City airport. While it was nice to get from here to there in three hours flat, I  prefer road trips over flying any day. It’s impossible to stop at little hole-in-the-wall places when you fly! Growing up, that’s how we always made the trip to Florida – stopping (much to my dad’s frustration) at every ice cream stand and scenic outlook between here and Timbuktu.

Beach at the Ritz Carlton Key Biscayne

Even though I missed the road trip portion, I loved actually being in Florida once I got there!

And, when I finally got back to Kansas City, I headed straight to Cracker Barrel with my sister for chicken n’ dumplings and chicken fried steak. Home at last!

2 thoughts on “The Sunshine State

Add a Comment

