Caffeine Monday

I didn’t drink coffee for the first 21 years of my life, so needless to say, I’m making up for lost time!

In fact, I didn’t even know how to operate a coffee pot until one of my first jobs – at a doctor’s office – where I proudly held the position of Medical Records Wizard/General Errand Girl/Lunch Fetcher/Coffee Maker. While making coffee was a nice break from operating the copy machine, my first attempt was a bit of a disaster! Since as my parents never drank coffee (we didn’t even own a coffee pot…) I had no idea what the coffee-to-water ratio should be and ended up brewing what can only be described as a big pot of super strong espresso! Needless to say, with all that caffeine, I don’t think anyone slept for 48 hours after drinking a cup of Adrienne’s Special Blend.

Since then, I’ve refined by coffee-related skills a bit, and have enjoyed sampling coffee in cute little coffee shops from Fayetteville, North Carolina to Lawrence, Kansas. And while I love any excuse to camp out with my laptop and a pair of headphones,  sometimes I’m in a hurry (okay – running late) and only have time for a quick drive-through run.

Filling Station Coffee here in Kansas City is one of those lovely places with both a cool indoor seating area and a drive-through. They’re also the reason I’m awake today!

Filling-Station-Coffee-Kansas-City-Missouri

Drive-thru-sign-at-Filling-Station-Coffee-in-Kansas-City

Here are the details:

Filling Station Coffee
1010 Westport Road
Kansas City, MO 64111

7 thoughts on “Caffeine Monday

  1. takeflightandlive

    Never done that location though I drive by it all the time. I always hit up the one downtown which is awesome as well. KC is lucky to have so many great coffee shops! Headed to one myself right now actually……

    Reply
  2. Grandma

    Well, what do you expect from Kansas City who is/was the home to FOLGER’S Coffee. My father worked there for 16 years. All of downtown K.C. smelled like one giant coffee pot. It was wonderful…except when they scorched the beans in the roasting process, which wasn’t often, but when it did happen…phew! I have they electric percolator Folgers gave my parents when they married in 1931. Drink up everyone!

    Reply
  3. Adam Sommer

    Awesome photos! Your site has some of the best photos around 🙂

    I am just like you with coffee….never had it till later in life (actually about 28 for me) but now I can’t get enough! Next time I’m in KC Ill try the Filling Station Coffee…

    Reply

Add a Comment

